CSN Drops Cousy

Comcast SportsNet has let Bob Cousy go.  There’s no doubt in my mind that this is some kind of cost-cutting move… because the 3 or 4 games he worked a year must have REALLY been a strain on the budget.  Said Cooz about the move:

“Some low-level executive called me,” Cousy told the newspaper in a phone interview yesterday, “and basically said that they decided to do two-man booths and they no longer needed my services. I said thank you very much, have a good year and I hung up on him.”

“You get to be 80, your priorities change,” Cousy said. “I enjoy keeping my hand in in a minimal way. But obviously this is a very exciting time to depart after 22 years of mediocrity. All of a sudden, it’s fun again for all of us. If I had my druthers, I would have preferred there not be a change, but is it a high priority item? I doubt it.”

Man… Cooz is 80.  

I’ll be the first to admit, Cooz ain’t getting into the broadcasting hall of fame… but he offers a unique perspective on games.  He knows what he’s talking about.  And after all he’s been through… as a legend that made this team what it is… I’d say he deserves better.  I hope the Celtics find a role for him.

5 Responses

  1. So Celtics Lovers, how long will it take your franchise to win 6 more championships like Michael Jordan? You’ve got one down, five more to go. How long will it take your franchise to match Michael Jordan?

  2. How long will it take MJ to become a good GM? How long did it take MJ to become a good baseball player?

  3. Last I checked… We’ve got 17. MJ has to catch US.

    Nice try, though.

  4. That sucks about Cousy. He wasn’t the best, but I loved his old stories….Was 2-3 games per year going to kill Comcast?

  5. No, how long will it take your Celtics to win 6 additional championships? You’ve got one, you need five more. Care to guess RedsArmy? I predict 75 to 100 years. I am leaning more towards 100 years though. The Celtics are no longer that dynastic franchise they used to be. How about you guys?

Leave a Reply

