Mutombo Could Be Here Next Week

So says Dikembe Mutombo

The 7-2 free agent center who helped the 76ers reach the NBA Finals in 2000-01, and who says ”I will be in Boston or San Antonio by the end of the year,” is trying to raise at least $2 million to help treat the thousands of patients who have been coming, mostly on an out-patient basis, to the hospital he has built in his native Democratic Republic Of The Congo.

(Via CelticsBlog)

** update:  As Ryan mentioned in the comments.  It’s possible that “end of the year” could mean end of the season.  I guess we need some clarification.

5 Responses

  1. Does he maybe mean by the end of the season and not the end of 2008?

  2. I like it. I dont know if he can still play but I still like it. We need some more size and height down below. O’bryant ain’t in the rotation and bib baby and Powe are a bit to short to match up with some centers in this league.

  3. Ryan… you could be right. I just assumed it was 2008.

  4. I would hope he means by the end of 2008, I feel like he’d need a good amount of time to practice and fit in with the team to learn his role.

  5. Yeah I like the idea though, he can still rebound and block shots better than many centers in the league, I’d love to sign him and see his finger wagging in the playoffs haha

Leave a Reply

